Montana Water Specialists

Public Water Supplies – Rules & Regs

The State of Montana requires the owner of a public water supply to retain a Certified Operator, and has provided the path to training and certification at various levels, dependent on the size and complexities of the system.  Failure to comply can result in stiff fines, penalties or additional judicial action.  Depending on the individual circumstances, these assessments range from $100 to $1,000 per day or up to $5,000/day if the violation has created an imminent danger to the health or safety of the pubic or caused significant environmental harm.

The references below provide links to the specific Montana Code and Administrative Rules which are relevant to Water Supply management.

Still have questions?  We are happy to help you determine if you have already met the requirements as they currently  apply to your situation, or to recommend cost-effective steps you might consider to become compliant.